I really need to. I’m just not sure who to hire instead. The decorator is me, and I have absolutely no skill in this department.

Of course, I took some advice from some folks on houzz, and that was a mistake too. 🙂 I have submitted my ideas to facebook and gotten feedback. It still isn’t working.

My first decision was to make the new cabinets around the oven/fridge area a distressed black. I love that look. I took a cupboard door (I planned to keep the existing cabinets the light green), a chunk of countertop, a piece of flooring to Lowe’s and picked out an appropriate black (remember, the ‘chicken crap green‘). I painted the face trim right after I installed it.

blackish cabinetry

blackish cabinetry

Wanting to do something bold, perhaps, on the pantry door and/or schoolroom door, I decided the red wall would need a change (already a lot of colors going on, right?).

Redwall

Redwall

Some houzzers thought a cream on the wall would make the green cabinets pop, so I also selected a proper cream color that worked well with all my colors/items. Or, it did on a palette.

IMG_1222So after primer, I painted.

Cream would make the green pop? Or not...

Cream would make the green pop? Or not…

This seems to be the area of the most problem. This is the farthest edge of the kitchen away from the new cabinet/pantry, and it flows into the dining room. There is no dark elements here to contrast like there will be at the other end. Ugh.

So I went to the hardware store and grabbed a handful of paint chips and started seeking advice from facebook (don’t criticize. It’s better than advice from myself).

Against the counters

Against the counters

The large dark paint chip is the (new) cabinet color, the green with the hole is the existing cabinets, and the rest was open for discussion. Several leaned to the warm browns, several to the greiges. I thought it might be brown overkill with the floor..

Against the floor

Against the floor

I ended up at Lowe’s and tried again…

Lowe's has fluorescent lights. :P

Lowe’s has fluorescent lights. 😛

I really like the rust color (almost the same as what the wall was) and thought maybe the pantry door or the island could handle that.. I went with one of the gray colors.

Hmmm..

Hmmm..

And the next day got to work on the walls. Again.

Gray wall and counters buried.

Gray wall and counters buried.

And I hated it. Again.

I submitted to houzz again before this, where everyone said, “yeah, why would anyone suggest cream?!” and I haven’t gone back to show them the gray. Again, I think it’s the lack of the dark paint over here that messes me up. And against my small backsplash it looks weird. I filled my pinterest kitchen board full of palettes that include my light green.

This is how it sits right now. I haven’t given up, but I’ve put it on hold. I finally got hubby to help me rip a piece of 3/4″ plywood (which I’d have been playing with instead of the paint, had it been in workable sized pieces). I built a couple roll-out drawers for below the oven, and ordered doors and drawer fronts.

At this point I’m considering abandoning my preference for a distressed black cabinet. Maybe I’ll do the new stuff in the same light green as the rest? Make the wall a darkish brown? Do a rust color or ?? on the pantry door? Could I get away with making the island in the same darkish brown as the wall? I lean towards changing the island to dark since I’m cooking on top of it, and I have children, and it WILL get messy. But then again, I’m fired, so what I think doesn’t matter. Too bad there wasn’t a design school nearby that needed a homework challenge.

