I have a working pantry!

Once Hubby had the door in the right spot, I put up a bit of sheetrock.

Outer drywall

Outer drywall

Desperate to have a place to put some of the piles and boxes of things, I put shelving between the studs where I’d drywalled.

I might not have let the primer dry before putting the space to work.

I might not have let the primer dry before putting the space to work.

IMG_1178

Above the door

Then I started working on the main interior of the pantry. Shelves! I’m not good with deep shelves (messy, disorganized), so I made most of them 9″ deep, except for one high shelf of 12″.

IMG_1197I painted (primer, really) the gun cabinet and all the shelves and walls. I pieced my countertop back together (I intend for that area to be an appliance garage) and cut a piece to fit (from the cooktop cut-out) to make a small workable countertop inside the pantry. I used an old whittled tree branch from the garage (?) as a ‘table leg.’ I also had to fill in the back corner with underlayment and a scrap of vinyl.

IMG_1196I may or may not have cannibalized the laundry-pantry for my lumber needs…

Oops.

Oops.

As soon as I could, I got to work stocking it, and so far it’s fantastic! There is still a lot of outer stuff to deal with (mud/tape/corner bead/paint), but the usability factor is top-notch!

IMG_1203

I hope the gun cabinet holds up…

Lower left side

Lower left side

I LOVE having all these between-the-studs shelves. And even the rustic plywood and primer.. It reminds me of a ‘grandma’s pantry’ and I have no problem with that. šŸ™‚

Oh, I also got my cookbook shelf operable! Just waiting for some upper molding along the ceiling.

I love how the tallest book fits! That NEVER happens!

I love how the tallest book fits! That NEVER happens!

