I haven’t posted much because, well, I’ve spent all that time actually WORKING on the project. And what a project it is…!

I used IKEA’s room planner to sketch out my kitchen, installing the windows and cabinets and appliances where they exist and where I imagine them, and then used the fun “3D” mode to actually SEE the kitchen. (Why don’t any of these sites offer light green for the cabinetry?) And then I took really crummy photos of my computer screen. 🙂

I’m sure you remember the ‘before:’

100_3556What I at first planned was to turn the ‘stove corner’ into a corner pantry. Of course, my plan didn’t stop there… We realized we’d need a wall oven to go with our cooktop, and figured we’d put it in the island under the cooktop or something. And then I got to thinking: Wouldn’t it be nice if the oven was up higher? And gosh I’d hate to lose one of those lower cabinets’ storage…

So I thought of installing it in the space to the right of the fridge. Otherwise, between giant fridge and pantry, that little hole might become cave-like anyway… Perhaps we could just remove that little microwave shelf and box it in….

Or rip out the whole wall of cabinetry – from above the fridge to the lower cabinet and countertop… And build my own! So it looked like this, in my mind:

Ikea + Photoshop = Not too bad…
So, learn cabinetry. No problem…

