or trying to, anyway.

We’re still in the middle of “fixing” the house, but it’s even more un-fixed than before. :\ I’ll write more on that soon.

We recently took our long-planned, real-live vacation, and it was great.

~Vacate…

 

Hubby’s dad has moved to join his mom, sister, brother-in-law, and niece, and they’re loving their new homeland. Mom found a good paying nursing job, and Papa is still looking, as far as I know. They’ve already taken a weekend trip to the coast which, beside closeness to their youngest and family, is high on their list of ‘why’ they moved.

We’ve crossed a couple seasonal (and very late) chores off our list – we’ve bought 2 tons of wood pellets and 3 tons of hay. One of our steers is ‘spoken for’ by an acquaintance, one is scheduled for OUR freezer, and Mae *sniff* is due to meet the same fate. We’ll be swimming in hamburger, but sadly (oh so sadly), the logistics and cost of having her incredibly awesome hide tanned is really prohibitive. The way we’re bleeding money right now, it just doesn’t seem like it’s going to happen. šŸ˜¦

I’m hoping to upgrade to a smartphone shortly. I called my cell carrier to refresh my memory on the exact details of my contract with them. The guy *had never seen* my plan before, and told me I need to go to a local store to see *if* they can activate a smartphone on my account at all. If not, I might cry. Our plan is nearly 10 years old, and is in it’s third company (though we never switched – mergers and takeovers you know). I could get *almost* the same thing, but it would cut my anytime minutes by 40% and cost me $5 more. šŸ˜›

The basement is full of hubbard and spaghetti squash, and I scrubbed and diced a TON of celery (really quickly before our trip) and dehydrated it.. It now fits into two half-gallon canning jars for use in soups and chili this winter. It should save me a good chunk (organic celery isn’t terribly cheap, and it’s high on the ‘dirty dozen’ list) if it lasts a while.

My sweet neighbor has invited the girls over today – she’s big on holidays and decor and wants to ply them with sugar, no doubt. šŸ™‚ She’s a gem, and while she “does not vote” I may just challenge that (nicely, of course). This Benghazi thing just brings me to tears, and is so, so not right.

