This is NOT the kind of redo you will find in magazines, (real) blogs, or even in your neighborhood. Nope. But for us, it qualifies. 🙂

We didn’t get new furniture (well we DID, but that was in 2006, and is probably the only actual ‘new’ furniture we own. I wasn’t blogging then, but it’s a story I should tell. Here.), I certainly didn’t do away with the old door hanging on my wall, and we only rearranged minimally.

Before:
(please ignore that person in the middle.)

…and excuse all the mess!

The blue living room was one of the early changes I made to our home after we bought it (ONE paint color and texture treatment – every wall, every ceiling, every bit of trim.. off white). I pored and pored over paint chips at the home improvement store, completely clueless as to how to choose. Finally, in a last moment of desperation (and to save my marriage) I grabbed a color I hadn’t even been considering up to that point – a blue. Brought it home and painted. At least it wasn’t off-white. 🙂 A couple kids and several years later, there was as much white joint-compound showing in places as there was blue. And blue never really went with it anyway (although I liked how the kitchen was red, which flowed into the (different!) off-white dining room, which met the blue living room. Red, white, blue. And a star/americana decor theme going on).

Sherwin Williams had a sale, so I made a quick stop there (Hubby and kids stayed in the van). I don’t remember if I knew what I was looking for, but I ended up with some warm-ish yellow, kinda, intending to paint when fall allowed windows to be open. That didn’t happen, but this spring I dived in. Here is what we ended up with:

The old door stays. 🙂

It’s not quite as yellow in real life, but it’s a good creamy butter color. And it goes with the earth-toned furniture much better than the blue did.

The ottoman makes a corner nook – when Hubby doesn’t drag it out. 🙂

I plan to put the same color into part of the dining room, but I haven’t gotten that done yet. I need to move that up the priority list I think.

