This year may be a year of transition for me.  Not only do I have the whole text-message protocol (or lack thereof) to process, NOW I find out that I shouldn’t be typing two spaces between sentences! I really am astonished at this. I’ve never even HEARD such a thing. The reasons make sense, and I’ll put some effort towards changing that habit, but it won’t be easy! In fact, right now I’m putting two spaces and a delete between each sentence. :]

What irks me just as much as the relearning is the fact that I was taught wrongly.  That really bothers me! It wasn’t because the teacher was mean, or doing it on purpose (I learned in a class with both typewriter and computer). But it really gives substance to the scripture, A pupil is not above his teacher; but everyone, after he has been fully trained, will be like his teacher.” (Luke 6:40) 


I’ve spent half my life in what I now discover is a bad habit since that ‘full training.’ How careful we need to be in choosing teachers! Typing two spaces, as hard as it may be to change, is a mild thing compared to other habits we learn and practice. 


Habit of overeating. Habit of laziness. Habit of self-serving. Habit of overspending. How about our thoughts? Habits of judgment, of assumption. Habits of seeing God inaccurately. Habit of believing our own strength is enough (or thinking that it SHOULD be). 


So much to learn, to change. The good news is that for all the important ones, the answer boils down to One Thing.


Love.


Love Him. Be loved by Him.

