I wonder if this is my version of “the nesting instinct”. I’m not all that informed about it, just that it’s generally a flurry of cleaning or other ‘nesting’ activity before your baby arrives. I’m not sure if it’s an hours-prior event, or days- or weeks-prior, but I daresay my diaper habits are hormonal at the least.

I’ve decided to cloth diaper this little one. Turns out cloth diapering is a hugely varied science and/or art these days. They say you can “save money”, but some of the options out there are anything but ‘money-saving’! Hemp, bamboo, organic velour All In Ones, anyone? No thanks. I’m going the cheap route, basically. Cotton prefolds and diaper covers. I’ve ordered the prefolds and some covers, the appropriate laundry detergent, some stuff to make my own wipes solution, a couple “Snappis”, then decided it wouldn’t be all that hard to make my own covers, so ordered the PUL fabrics, elastics, and touchtape (velcro) to do so. Plus a pre-cut cover kit to use and get ideas from. This adds up to orders from no fewer than 5 websites, including the one linked to at the left. I’ve also joined two Yahoo Group co-ops for buying fabric and sewing materials. I used a ton of coupons on Monday at my local Jo-Ann fabrics, getting anti-pill fleece, some pretty crushed panne, more flannel, and more. I’m trying to stick with the greens/yellows, but I’ve gotten a few blues, too. I still need polyester thread. I’ve drafted patterns based on website pictures, downloaded free patterns, and even made a cute little diaper cover. I’ve cut and serged flannel baby wipes, and that is tedious.

I must be out of my mind. Gi-gi thinks so. But then, she is probably thinking of 1950s cloth diapering, and I just don’t have it in me to explain the difference between and science of All-in-Ones, Fitteds, Pockets, Contours, Prefolds, Covers, Inserts/Doublers, Soakers, and more; partly because I don’t have it all figured out yet either.

I can’t wait until the rest of my orders arrive. But by then I’ll owe the mail carrier a batch of cookies. I’m sure she’s more than tired of maneuvering my long pot-holed driveway when the packages don’t fit in the mailbox.

